And the nominees are....

And the nominees are....


Awards Ceremony: Saturday February 18 at ASB Showgrounds, Auckland.

After a hiatus last year, the nicknamed Moas are back in 2017 once again as the Rialto Channel NZ Film Awards.

In a formal-yet-informal ceremony with an irreverent edge disguising a serious purpose, the Awards will recognise a wide range of films released over the past two years. In total, there are 19 drama features, 9 documentary features and 12 short films up for consideration in various categories.

A particular highlight is the 7 strong nominees in the Best Documentary category, which sees international favourite TICKLED alongside local heroes CHASING GREAT and POI E: THE STORY OF OUR SONG, the unconventional animated 25 APRIL and the outwardly-focused A FLICKERING TRUTH.

Winners will be decided by a judging committee that is totally off-shore based, which may lead to a fresh perspective on New Zealand’s films. Local blockbuster HUNT FOR THE WILDERPEOPLE has the highest number of nominations with 15, followed by THE REHEARSAL (13), MAHANA (12) and SLOW WEST (10).

Independent filmmakers have upped the ante since the last awards with six films vying for the title of Best Self-funded feature, including science-fiction mind-bender CHRONESTHESIA, acclaimed drama THE GREAT MAIDEN’S BLUSH and Samoan comedy THREE WISE COUSINS.

This year’s HUNT FOR THE WILDERPEOPLE Best Actor nominee Julian Dennison could become a two-time winner at the ripe old age of 14. He won Best Supporting Actor in 2013 for Best Picture Winner SHOPPING.

Awards co-producer Hugh Sundae says: “The categories are filled with great work, but the Moas have never just been about the finalists. As cliched as it sounds it’s the one chance the industry get together to celebrate their craft, with all disciplines treated equally. And after a year off this is a long-overdue get-together.”

The awards will be presented on February 18 at Auckland’s ASB Showgrounds with major support from New Zealand Film Commission and other industry partners.

Contact: Awards publicist Sue May 0274 739 318

Photos from the 5 best feature nominees - Free in Deed, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, Mahana, Slow West & The Rehearsal are availble for download and use here :


Rialto Channel Best Film
Free in Deed
Hunt for the Wilderpeople
Slow West
The Rehearsal

NZOnAir Best Television Feature
How to Murder Your Wife
Venus and Mars

Park Road Post Best Self Funded Film
Broken Hallelujah
Stars in Her Eyes
The Great Maiden's Blush
Three Wise Cousins

Fish Best Director
Jake Mahaffy (Free in Deed)
Taika Waititi (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Lee Tamahori (Mahana)
John Maclean (Slow West)
Alison Maclean (The Rehearsal) Best Screenplay
Taika Waititi (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
John Collee (Mahana)
John Maclean (Slow West)
Andrea Bosshard (The Great Maiden's Blush)
Alison Maclean and Emily Perkins (The Rehearsal)

Man O' War Best Actress
Rachel House (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Caren Pistorius (Slow West)
Miriama McDowell (The Great Maiden's Blush)
Kerry Fox (The Rehearsal)
Laurence Leboeuf (Turbo Kid)

Best Actor
Milo Cawthorne (Deathgasm)
Julian Dennison (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Temuera Morrison (Mahana)
Michael Fassbender (Slow West)
James Rolleston (The Rehearsal)

Manukau Urban Maori Authority Best Supporting Actress
Onyeka Arapai (Born To Dance)
Nova Waretini-Hewison (Chronesthesia)
Rima Te Wiata (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Nancy Brunning (Mahana)
Ella Edward (The Rehearsal)

Te Whānau O Waipareira Best Supporting Actor
Jordan Vaahakolo (Born To Dance)
Ben Mitchell (Broken Hallelujah)
Sam Neill (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Kieran Charnock (The Rehearsal)
Edwin Wright (Turbo Kid)

Imagezone Best Cinematography
Simon Raby (Deathgasm)
Lachlan Milne (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Ginny Loane (Mahana)
Robbie Ryan (Slow West)
Waka Attewell, Alun Bollinger (The Great Maiden's Blush)

Letterboxd Best Production Design
Shayne Radford (Born To Dance)
Neville Stevenson (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Mark Robins (Mahana)
Kim Sinclair (Slow West)
Kirsty Cameron (The Rehearsal)

Mandy VFX Best Editor
Luke Haigh, Tom Eagles, Yana Gorskaya (Hunt for the Wilderpoeple)
Michael Horton with Jonothan Woodford-Robinson (Mahana)
Roland Gallois, Jon Gregory (Slow West)
Jonothan Woodford-Robinson (The Rehearsal)
Luke Haigh (Turbo Kid)

Bigpop Studios Best Score
Lukasz Pawel Buda, Samuel Scott, Conrad Wedde (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara (Mahana)
Jed Kurzel (Slow West)
Connan Mockasin (The Rehearsal)
Le Matos (Turbo Kid)

Bigpop Studios Best Sound 
Phil Burton (Chronesthesia)
Gareth Van Niekerk, Amy Barber, Chris Sinclair (Deathgasm)
Dick Reade, Michael Hedges  (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Dick Reade, Fred Enholmer, Tim Chaproniere (The Rehearsal)
Dick Reade (Turbo Kid)

Images and Sound Best Visual Effects
Simeon Duncombe (Chronesthesia)
Jason Lei Howden, Sarah Howden, Johnathan Guest, Blur + Sharpen, Halcyon Digital, Park Road Post,  Village Video Co (Deathgasm)
Curious Films, Weta Digital, PixelJuice (Hunt for the Wilderpoeple)
Peter McCully, Dan Packer (Mahana)
Curious, Alchemy 24 (Turbo Kid)

Best Costume Design
Kylie Cooke (Born To Dance)
Kristin Seth (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Liz McGregor (Mahana)
Kirsty Cameron (Slow West)
Kirsty Cameron and Charlotte Rust (The Rehearsal)

MAC Best Makeup Design
Vanessa Hurley, Roger Murray, Andrew Beattie (Deathgasm)
Dannelle Satherley (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)
Susie Glass (Mahana)
Dannelle Satherley (The Rehearsal)


New Zealand Film Commission Best Documentary
25 April
A Flickering Truth
Belief: The Possession of Janet Moses
Chasing Great
Poi E: The Story Of Our Song
The Ground We Won

Directors & Editors Guild of NZ Best Documentary Director
Leanne Pooley (25 April)
Pietra Brettkelly (A Flickering Truth)
David Stubbs (Belief: The Possession of Janet Moses)
Michelle Walshe & Justin Pemberton (Chasing Great)
Tearepa Kahi (Poi E: The Story Of Our Song)
Christopher Pryor (The Ground We Won)
David Farrier & Dylan Reeve (Tickled)

PLS Best Documentary Cinematography
Jacob Bryant (A Flickering Truth)
Mathew Knight (Belief: The Possession of Janet Moses)
Jacob Bryant (Chasing Great)
Adam Luxton & Summer Agnew (On an Unkown Beach)
Christopher Pryor (The Ground We Won)
Dominic Fryer (Tickled)

Lotech Media Best Documentary Editor
Tim Woodhouse (25 April)
Bradley Warden (Belief: The Possession of Janet Moses)
Prisca Bouchet (Ever the Land)
Tearepa Kahi  and Francis Glenday (POI E: The Story of our Song)
Simon Coldrick (Tickled)


Best Short Film
Linda's List
Madam Black
Shout at the Ground

Halcyon Digital Best Self Funded Short Film
Accidents, Blunders and Calamities
Every Moment
Food For Thought
Not Like Her

Actors Agents Association of New Zealand Best Short Film Actress
Jacqueline Joe (Cradle)
Bree Peters (Every Moment)
Angela Bloomfield (Linda's List)
Kate Elliott (Not Like Her)
Katlyn Wong (WAIT)

Actors Agents Association of New Zealand Best Best Short Film Actor
Josh McKenzie (Bound)
Matthew Sunderland (Cradle)
Aaron McGregor (Every Moment)
Cohen Holloway (Feeder)
Jethro Skinner (Madam Black)

The Rialto Channel Film Awards are sponsored by:
Rialto Channel, NZ Film Commission, National Urban Maori Authority, NZ On Air, Imagezone, Images & Sound, Park Road Post, Fish, BigPop Studios, Professional Lighting Services, Letterboxd, Mandy VFX, Mac, Dominion Law,, Halcyon Digital, AAANZ, Vendetta Films